#ugly sobbing #why #who gave you the right to make me remember this
#please take a moment to realize what this means#bucky was already ‘dead’ when shield was founded by peggy and howard#but they included him anyway#they decided to call him a shield agent#and to put his name on a memorial#he was probably the first name up there since he was dead before shield existed#shield was founded after steve took out hydra#he started that with bucky#he finished it for him#so to peggy and howard bucky was a shield agent#in every way that mattered (via thewinterwizard)
actually, i’m pretty sure his name was listed as one of the SSR agents who were memorialized — they had a different insignia, followed by a few variations of shield’s insignia, probably because of different eras or possibly subsections of shield.
(and this either means that they either put bucky’s NICKNAME (not “james buchanan barnes”) up there, or that skye is a huge bucky fangirl and knows a ton about him and looked for his name.
i’m going for both.)
Yeah, that wall lists both SSR-era agents, as well as SHIELD-era agents.
This screenshot I took below is kinda crappy – there’s a much better version here – but you can see the SSR logo to the left, in the 1941-1965 section.
Also, I think Bucky’s nickname was pretty well known.
The Smithsonian memorial lists his full name, including the “Bucky” nickname, and at the very bottom he’s referred to as just Bucky Barnes. The narrator also calls him “Bucky Barnes.”
But, you know. Her mentor is Phil Coulson. He might have tried to downplay the obsession some, but you know she got some Howling Commandos history lessons at some point, even if she’d never heard the name before in her life. (Which she had, obviously. Not only is it American history, she is an Avengers fan.)
Which just makes me think that at some point Coulson started giving some lecture about Cap history and relating it to something current, and Skye was just all, “We know, Coulson, jeez. The raid took place without official sanction and saved the lives of over a hundred men. Got it. In history class. And at the Smithsonian. And, you know, the last two times you’ve talked about it.”
Tag: gifs
And Death Shall Have No Dominion – Dylan Thomas (x)
fucking slam
FUCKIN MEGA SLAM
HOT DAMN
Your character falls into the “friend zone” – Is this primarily a man’s problem, or are women put in the friend zone as well? x
DANIEL RADCLIFFE FOR ALL THE AWARDS
ALL OF THEM
“That’s a lot less pithy so people don’t ask me about that”
DAN RAD IS AMAZING
How did this kid who literally grew up pretending to be a wizard end up such a sensible, well-adjusted adult?
It’s kinda trippy.
Iron Man 3 Visual Effects
He flipped himself over….. RDJ is a stunt man!
One of the things that Hollywood seems incapable of appreciating is that actors in movies with special effects have to either 1. act to nothing because literally nothing is there, 2. react and pretend something is happening because again, nothing is happening, and 3. interact with characters that will later be put into the scene with special effects.
This example is just one of many. Think about what you’ve seen, not only in the past decade or so of CGI, but before then when Star Wars (the originals) revolutionized the whole of sci-fi fantasy films. Hollywood rolls its eyes, reaps the benefits with the ‘popcorn movies’ but rarely (if ever) rewards them. The Return of the King was a fluke that probably will never be repeated. It’s one reason I will always ALWAYS talk about the acting skills of those in these films (and the directing prowess), because it isn’t easy. At all.
So thank you to all the actors, directors, production teams, special effects teams, etc. You made it possible and I, for one, am grateful.
I am all about Bucky thinking that Captain America is a goddamn joke
and that it’s an even funnier joke when he finds out Cap is Steve
Because he knows Steve SO WELL he knows ALL THE WAYS he at once fits the persona perfectly and all the ways he doesn’t fit it at all. Steve…
#somebody calls steve ‘mature and responsible’ #steve looks all modest and goes ‘well thank y—’ #‘you’re KIDDING right’ bucky interrupts #‘he used to pick fights with guys three—no FOUR times his size #kept trying to join the army so he could what? shoot a few bullets before a fly landed on him and took him out for good? #then some guy whispered ‘psst you want us to make you bigger? we think it might work this time’ to him from a dark alley #and steve said ‘yeah okay’ and by some miracle it didn’t kill or deform him #so then he spent some time skipping around bopping nazis on the head #which yeah sure okay #but then I was gone maybe SIX MINUTES before he decided it would be fun to grab a plane and play chicken with an ocean #so that knocks him out for a while but when he wakes up does he decide to take it easy for a while?#maybe stop trying to give the people around him as many HAPS—that’s heart attacks per second—as possible?’ #‘bucky—’#‘shut up steve #the answer is no #no he does not #he starts fighting aliens #ALIENS I tell you #and after he gets knocked around by THEM things taper off for a while #only eight maybe nine unnecessary life-threatening stunts a week #until he decides it’s time to shake things up and takes on a vast government agency full of traitorous trained killers because why not? #oh but he gets help #two people #you know to even up the odds #and—’ #‘BUCKY’ #‘shut up steve I’m telling her how mature and responsible you are’ #‘I’m sorry I forgot my parachute yesterday could you please just let it go’ #‘WE WERE FLYING OVER A DESERT DID YOU THINK YOU COULD DIVE INTO SAND JUST AS EASY AS WATER’#‘I’m not used to putting chutes on! it was an honest mistake! I’m sorry ma’am here’s your autograph we’ll just go now c’mon buck’
(via sunshineandsuperheroes)
*SKIPPING AROUND BOPPING NAZIS ON THE HEAD*
dying. just dying.
#‘WE WERE FLYING OVER A DESERT DID YOU THINK YOU COULD DIVE INTO SAND JUST AS EASY AS WATER’
Please just leave me here to fucking die, I’m laughing so hard I can’t walk and it’s moved on to full on tears. I’ll just drown right here and now.
When an actor stumbles into their fandom on Tumblr:
When Orlando Jones stumbles into his fandom on Tumblr:
theorlandojones really should see this one… 😉
Paging theorlandojones…
Approved with some slight proposed modifications:
When an actor stumbles into their fandom on Tumblr:
When Trollando stumbles into his fandom on Tumblr:
I love him too much for this.
Sir, I’m gonna need to ask you to stop, you’re going to kill someone with your awesomeness.
tryin 2 get ur friends to watch ur shows like
his face: oh shit i should not have become a mercenary i have made bad life choices i should have gone to culinary school
her face: i love my job. die now.
so here’s a fun story about this movie. guess who loves this movie? me! i do! i love this movie. i love this movie so much that when i was in the 7th grade and i saw “first wives club 2” on pay per view i was like: HELL YEAH!! FIRST WIVES CLUB TWO!! NO ONE TOLD ME THERE WAS A SEQUEL!!!
here’s the synopsis for first wives club 2:
disgruntled first wives take their ex-husbands’ new lovers under their wing.
sounds great, right? awesome viewing material for a precocious 11-year-old.
so i buy this movie, and like, three minutes into it i’m starting to feel suspicious?? like it’s really low quality and my girls are nowhere in sight?? how come none of the first wives are the same?? how come they’re alone in a bedroom with mood lighting?? why is she taking off her shirt?? why are they both taking off their shirts?? WHY ARE THEY—
here’s what i did not know about first wives club 2:
- it is a lesbian porno of no relation to the beloved 1996 classic.
so of course i, horrified that i’ve accidentally bought porn on my family’s account (and in that state of panic that kids work themselves into whenever anything regarding sex is mentioned), quickly shut off the TV and go upstairs and watch an episode of veggie tales to like, cleanse my soul and apologize to jesus, and that’s that.
EXCEPT, OF COURSE:
- you have to pay for pay per view.
so the end of the month comes and i have completely put this incident out of my mind, haha, i accidentally bought porn, how funny, TELL NO ONE. right? and i’m sitting at a nice dinner with my mother, my stepfather, and my very religious aunt deb, and we’re just talking about farm things, whatever, when suddenly my mother puts her fork down and says, “okay, there’s something we need to discuss. as a family.”
- AS A FAMILY.
and i’m like, running through a list of people i know who could conceivably be dead, and fantasizing about my mother announcing that she’s going to buy me My Own Computer Just Because U Earned It Kiddo, and she pulls out a piece of paper that says DIRECTV across the top. and i’m like: OH NO.
“i received the tv bill today,” my mother said, and i was like, shoveling potatoes into my mouth as fast as i could because i knew that when i went to PORN PRISON they weren’t going to feed me this kind of quality starch. “does anybody want to tell me who purchased the pornography?”
as a reminder, a quick table survey:
- my mother, surprised and disappointed by the porn bill (innocent)
- my stepfather, a grumbly old cowboy who just wants to sing along to kenny chesney and watch the hunt for red october (innocent)
- my aunt deb, a super religious catholic whose best friend is a nun named Sister Placid (innocent)
- me, the 11-year-old with a mouthful of potatoes who definitely purchased the lesbian pornography
silence.
my mother said, “i’m not going to ask again.”
silence.
my aunt looked at my stepdad. my stepdad looked at my aunt. NOBODY LOOKED AT ME, THE 11-YEAR-OLD WITH A MOUTHFUL OF POTATOES WHO DEFINITELY PURCHASED THE LESBIAN PORNOGRAPHY.
my mother shook her head and put the bill down. “this was incredibly inappropriate,” she said. “skip, deb, whoever. buy that shit on your own time. i’m not paying for it. what if molly had seen it?”
- WHAT IF MOLLY HAD SEEN IT?
“don’t expose my kid to that crap.”
- DON’T
- EXPOSE
- MY KID
- TO THAT CRAP
“if you want to watch porn, fine, but do it in private and don’t expect me to pay for it. i can’t believe one of you did that in the living room.”
- I CAN’T BELIEVE ONE OF YOU DID THAT
- IN THE LIVING ROOM
but molly, why didn’t you own up to it and explain that it was an accident?
- are you fucking kidding
- i did not want to go to porn prison
the fun conclusion to this story is that i never owned up to it, which means that there are 3 people in the world who have not solved the mystery of the lesbian porn. a quick survey:
- my mother, who lives every day wondering whose porn she paid for
- my stepfather, who probably wishes he knew less about his wife’s sister’s porn preferences
- my aunt, who probably wishes she knew less about her sister’s husband’s porn preferences
but molly, why don’t you own up to it now, with the safety of time and distance and the knowledge that porn prison isn’t real?
- are you fucking kidding
- this is the best thing i’ve ever done









